Rune Central
http://forums.runequake.com/

Practice Mode -> Normal Mode weapon inventory fix...
http://forums.runequake.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=904
Page 1 of 1

Author:  sputnikutah [ Thu Sep 29, 2005 11:59 pm ]
Post subject:  Practice Mode -> Normal Mode weapon inventory fix...

In --
change_mode_to_normal
add:
starve_players();
before:
&%368 = -1;

create:
Code:
   
void () starve_players =
{
   local entity temp;

   temp = self;
   self = find (world, classname, "player");
   while (self)
   {
      self.items       = (IT_SHOTGUN | IT_AXE | IT_HOOK);
      self.health       = 100;
      self.armorvalue    = 0;
      self.ammo_shells    = 0;
      self.ammo_nails    = 0;
      self.ammo_rockets    = 0;
      self.ammo_cells    = 0;
      self.weapon       = 1;
      self.armortype       = 0;
      self.weaponmodel    = "progs/v_shot.mdl";
      self.weaponframe    = 0;      

      self = find (self, classname, "player");
   }
   self = temp;
};


Description:

If playing in Practice mode, then voting to normal players respawn with all weapons.
This will revert their inventory back to "normal".

Author:  Slot Zero [ Fri Sep 30, 2005 5:23 am ]
Post subject: 

I tried to mimic CRMod++ as best as I could. So keeping your weapons when you switch from practice to normal is intentional.

Author:  toyo_mr2 [ Fri Sep 30, 2005 7:15 am ]
Post subject: 

Since the two are entirely different games, I think it's more sensible for the weapons, ammo and armor to be reset when switching from practice to normal mode.

Author:  sputnikutah [ Sat Oct 01, 2005 10:42 am ]
Post subject: 

Honestly I think it was an oversight on JP.G's part, as going from practice to match mode forces everyone into observer mode (thus resetting the weapons). I was just thinking of the poor saps that join the game at the time of intermission that dont get the full inventory on map change. :shock:

Author:  Slot Zero [ Sat Oct 01, 2005 4:03 pm ]
Post subject: 

In normal mode, all players retain their weapons, ammo, armor, health, and rune during intermission. In fact, this happens every time you join a FFA (normal) game regardless of when you enter it. If you connect to any FFA server, it's possible someone might have full ammo, armor, maybe even a powerful rune, yet you wouldn't consider yourself a poor sap when you connect with standard parms, would you? It's just the nature of a FFA game.

Author:  Slot Zero [ Sat Oct 01, 2005 5:03 pm ]
Post subject: 

By the way, the server has the ability to reset parms after level change. Would you like me to configure the server on 26002 this way?

Author:  sputnikutah [ Sat Oct 01, 2005 5:37 pm ]
Post subject: 

No, I wasn't aware that all deathmatch 1, ffa servers retained their weapons after map change. I thought at was a single player left-over effect, (thought it might be). IMHO, when a new game starts, reset the weapons. The "Ranking" screen shows winner, game over. New map, new game. If it is already a setting then dont worry. Each sys0p can alter it to his/her preference. :D

Author:  Slot Zero [ Sat Oct 01, 2005 6:24 pm ]
Post subject: 

Maybe I should make it a vote option?

Author:  Diazoild [ Sun Oct 02, 2005 4:14 pm ]
Post subject: 

sputnikutah wrote:
No, I wasn't aware that all deathmatch 1, ffa servers retained their weapons after map change...



They don't. At SINGED you lose your weapons and rune when the map changes.

Author:  yellow#5 [ Sun Oct 02, 2005 7:38 pm ]
Post subject: 

I like that on shmack servers players retain items on map change (It's nice too that singed isn't exactly like shmack with items reseting on map change and non-rotating armor).

But I don't see why it's a good idea to retain a full compliment of weapons when switching from practice to normal mode though. The whole reason to switch is so you don't have them. Whenever I've played a game on 26002 and we wanted to set the mode to normal, it's always a problem. It goes like this:
"Lets play in normal mode"
"Hey we still have all our weapons/ammo"
"Ok type kill in console"
"Oops I picked up my full pack I dropped when I suicided"
"Dammit, ok, vote to restart level..."

Also, how come 26002 doesn't default back to dm6 anymore? Was that changed?

Author:  Slot Zero [ Sun Oct 02, 2005 7:51 pm ]
Post subject: 

yellow#5 wrote:
Whenever I've played a game on 26002 and we wanted to set the mode to normal, it's always a problem.


I'll look into it right now.

yellow#5 wrote:
Also, how come 26002 doesn't default back to dm6 anymore? Was that changed?


The server is setup to always play the same level over and over, unless someone changes it. I spawn it on DM6, but it doesn't reset automatically to it.

Author:  Baker [ Sun Oct 02, 2005 7:53 pm ]
Post subject: 

What Yellow says ^^^^ (all of it) heheh

Every time anyone 1 on 1's at 26002 with practice mode OFF, it takes like 3 attempts to get stuff right. Kill self, oops other guy still has stuff, he kills self. Oops I grabbed his backpack.

Much easier if switching practice mode off took care of removing inventory and setting health and armor.

*cough* need match mode so we can get some tournament action going */cough*

Author:  Slot Zero [ Sun Oct 02, 2005 8:43 pm ]
Post subject: 

I just added match mode. Use vote-match instead of vote-normal.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/