Rune Central http://forums.runequake.com/ |
|
Practice Mode -> Normal Mode weapon inventory fix... http://forums.runequake.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=904 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | sputnikutah [ Thu Sep 29, 2005 11:59 pm ] |
Post subject: | Practice Mode -> Normal Mode weapon inventory fix... |
In -- change_mode_to_normal add: starve_players(); before: &%368 = -1; create: Code: void () starve_players = { local entity temp; temp = self; self = find (world, classname, "player"); while (self) { self.items = (IT_SHOTGUN | IT_AXE | IT_HOOK); self.health = 100; self.armorvalue = 0; self.ammo_shells = 0; self.ammo_nails = 0; self.ammo_rockets = 0; self.ammo_cells = 0; self.weapon = 1; self.armortype = 0; self.weaponmodel = "progs/v_shot.mdl"; self.weaponframe = 0; self = find (self, classname, "player"); } self = temp; }; Description: If playing in Practice mode, then voting to normal players respawn with all weapons. This will revert their inventory back to "normal". |
Author: | Slot Zero [ Fri Sep 30, 2005 5:23 am ] |
Post subject: | |
I tried to mimic CRMod++ as best as I could. So keeping your weapons when you switch from practice to normal is intentional. |
Author: | toyo_mr2 [ Fri Sep 30, 2005 7:15 am ] |
Post subject: | |
Since the two are entirely different games, I think it's more sensible for the weapons, ammo and armor to be reset when switching from practice to normal mode. |
Author: | sputnikutah [ Sat Oct 01, 2005 10:42 am ] |
Post subject: | |
Honestly I think it was an oversight on JP.G's part, as going from practice to match mode forces everyone into observer mode (thus resetting the weapons). I was just thinking of the poor saps that join the game at the time of intermission that dont get the full inventory on map change. |
Author: | Slot Zero [ Sat Oct 01, 2005 4:03 pm ] |
Post subject: | |
In normal mode, all players retain their weapons, ammo, armor, health, and rune during intermission. In fact, this happens every time you join a FFA (normal) game regardless of when you enter it. If you connect to any FFA server, it's possible someone might have full ammo, armor, maybe even a powerful rune, yet you wouldn't consider yourself a poor sap when you connect with standard parms, would you? It's just the nature of a FFA game. |
Author: | Slot Zero [ Sat Oct 01, 2005 5:03 pm ] |
Post subject: | |
By the way, the server has the ability to reset parms after level change. Would you like me to configure the server on 26002 this way? |
Author: | sputnikutah [ Sat Oct 01, 2005 5:37 pm ] |
Post subject: | |
No, I wasn't aware that all deathmatch 1, ffa servers retained their weapons after map change. I thought at was a single player left-over effect, (thought it might be). IMHO, when a new game starts, reset the weapons. The "Ranking" screen shows winner, game over. New map, new game. If it is already a setting then dont worry. Each sys0p can alter it to his/her preference. |
Author: | Slot Zero [ Sat Oct 01, 2005 6:24 pm ] |
Post subject: | |
Maybe I should make it a vote option? |
Author: | Diazoild [ Sun Oct 02, 2005 4:14 pm ] |
Post subject: | |
sputnikutah wrote: No, I wasn't aware that all deathmatch 1, ffa servers retained their weapons after map change...
They don't. At SINGED you lose your weapons and rune when the map changes. |
Author: | yellow#5 [ Sun Oct 02, 2005 7:38 pm ] |
Post subject: | |
I like that on shmack servers players retain items on map change (It's nice too that singed isn't exactly like shmack with items reseting on map change and non-rotating armor). But I don't see why it's a good idea to retain a full compliment of weapons when switching from practice to normal mode though. The whole reason to switch is so you don't have them. Whenever I've played a game on 26002 and we wanted to set the mode to normal, it's always a problem. It goes like this: "Lets play in normal mode" "Hey we still have all our weapons/ammo" "Ok type kill in console" "Oops I picked up my full pack I dropped when I suicided" "Dammit, ok, vote to restart level..." Also, how come 26002 doesn't default back to dm6 anymore? Was that changed? |
Author: | Slot Zero [ Sun Oct 02, 2005 7:51 pm ] |
Post subject: | |
yellow#5 wrote: Whenever I've played a game on 26002 and we wanted to set the mode to normal, it's always a problem. I'll look into it right now. yellow#5 wrote: Also, how come 26002 doesn't default back to dm6 anymore? Was that changed?
The server is setup to always play the same level over and over, unless someone changes it. I spawn it on DM6, but it doesn't reset automatically to it. |
Author: | Baker [ Sun Oct 02, 2005 7:53 pm ] |
Post subject: | |
What Yellow says ^^^^ (all of it) heheh Every time anyone 1 on 1's at 26002 with practice mode OFF, it takes like 3 attempts to get stuff right. Kill self, oops other guy still has stuff, he kills self. Oops I grabbed his backpack. Much easier if switching practice mode off took care of removing inventory and setting health and armor. *cough* need match mode so we can get some tournament action going */cough* |
Author: | Slot Zero [ Sun Oct 02, 2005 8:43 pm ] |
Post subject: | |
I just added match mode. Use vote-match instead of vote-normal. |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group https://www.phpbb.com/ |